Book Review : Faking Perfect by Rebecca Phillips

4edf5-22859815

My Rating : 3.5 Stars

Publisher : Kensington Books

Title : Faking Perfect

Author : Rebecca Phillips

Genre : Young Adult > Contemporary Romance

Page Count : 237

I received the eARC of this book from NetGalley 

Book Info:  

When Lexi Shaw seduced Oakfield High’s resident bad boy Tyler Flynn at the beginning of senior year, he seemed perfectly okay with her rules:


1. Avoid her at school.

2. Keep his mouth shut about what they do together.

3. Never tease her about her friend (and unrequited crush) Ben.

Because with his integrity and values and golden boy looks, Ben can never find out about what she’s been doing behind closed doors with Tyler. Or that her mom’s too busy drinking and chasing losers to pay the bills. Or that Lexi’s dad hasn’t been a part of her life for the last thirteen years. But with Tyler suddenly breaking the rules, Ben asking her out, and her dad back in the picture, how long will she be able to go on faking perfect?

Review:

In our society, we have placed a great stress on being perfect. We place masks over the face of our “real” selves. Everyone these days is trying to be someone else, everyone is trying to put up with the society , they are hiding their true selves to fit in, in the process of being Perfect. It is doubtful that there is anyone who does not. Everyone is Faking Perfect.

“If I expose my nakedness as a person to you- Do not make me feel shame.”– John Powell, Why Am I Afraid to Tell You Who I Am?

Marquez said “All human beings have three lives-public, private and secret.”  and I think he was right, we all live three lives, we are different person when we are with our friends, different person when we are with our family and different person when we are alone.

Faking Perfect is a book which is exactly trying to say this and this book is my first from Rebecca Phillips. So, this writer is also new to me.

This book is about a girl Lexi, she is a very authentic and a perfect person in front of the society, she is popular, intelligent and what not?

But in reality she is all messed up,damaged, insecure, shallow and full of flaws, her character is very realistic. Yes, she is not all that perfect, guess what nobody is, but what I liked is how her character turned out to be, it evolved over time and this book basically is about Lexi’s personal growth.

There are many other characters in this book, Lexi’s relationship with Tyler, Nolan and Ben is very distinct and it is something that tells a lot about her. These people make her realize what she actually is and what exactly she want.

I really like her relationship with Nolan’s family, her father and Tyler and these people actually made the book worth reading because they gave a hope that people who care actually exists and they love her for who she is, her true self.

Her mother is portrayed as an immature and damaged alcoholic lady and she is not at all likable though I actually didn’t like anything that is related to their house leaving the lilac bushes. Her mother don’t give a damn about her which I thought is very insensitive.

49833-entrance-flower-garden-jww2773

She also got few friends she think are perfect Ben (who she also love), Emily and Shelby. But leaving Shelby everyone turns their back when they discovered Lexi’s real self. But with time she discovered that nobody is actually perfect and everyone have some or other faults in them.

She have a no string attached relationship with Tyler and as said in the description she actually use Tyler for sex and she have also set rule for him to follow. I also hated that the author didn’t talk much about Tyler in the book, I was actually waiting for him to appear and as of now when I actually have read the book, Tyler for me is still a mystery.

06c7a-ef302c8cd26dc078f950132a70fb80c6

78fd0-amor-bedroom-casal-couple-cute-favim-com-56310_large

Yes, what the book actually tell you about Tyler is, he is a bad guy, he sells drugs in parties and stuff, he drink a lot, he is a man-whore and all the bad stuff you can think.And that he falls in love with Lexi 😀

But I love how his character is developed over time, and eventually he is a good person, I mean he stops doing all the bad things he used to do and a total grown up.

Okay, so yes I’ve this problem that the writer didn’t actually give more description about the characters because yes that made it difficult for me to imagine about them.

Lexi’s character is also not very likable, at times she is downright annoying, immature and the way she think about herself that she is out of someone’s league. I think that is much like humiliating yourself in front of yourself , I hated that. She is not confident about herself and also hurt people who cared about her,damn.

But since in the end it all does make sense, what the writer is trying to say, so I guess it’s fine.

Well I give this book 3.5 stars for I wanted it to have more details about the characters and yes there where situations I was expecting different reactions from the characters, like from the father when she told him about her mother and how she actually treated her and in the last two chapters, the story was a bit forced like it was really fast paced .

And yes I don’t actually consider this book as a romance novel.

I think this song describe the ending better 🙂

Leave a Reply

