Book Review : Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn


9ea43-19288043

My Rating: 4 out of 5


Gillian Flynn has put together love, angst and revenge like you can never imagine in your wildest dream.

The book is divided in 3 sections and the first one was slightly boring and I was thinking if I took the right decision to read this book, but this book does have a really good way of narration as it keeps the readers involved. It starts with giving out both views – from the husband (as it happens) and the wife (by way of diary entries). A very different and exciting way to narrate the story of a wife gone missing.

The second section of the Book clears out the hidden pieces and discloses the mystery a little bit and when you reach the middle of the book you get blows after blows as every page you turn and come across a twist which kind of takes the story towards a completely different ending than you would have started contemplating.

90fe7-doctor-who

The character in this book are shady and speaking the truth for me they are unlikable.One good thing Flynn did, that she made both the characters equally bad, like both of them mocking at each other and they are basically not the type people that you want to be with, BUT they are interesting.In the beginning I really liked Amy(the wife) and hated Nick(the husband).

For some reason I was relating my self to the wife, I was able to understand her, but with time when mysteries unfolded,I was socked and I was like are you FUCKING KIDDING ME, like what kind of person is SHE…and then I was feeling bad for myself for thinking that I’m LIKE HER.

In the book, the wife basically turned out to be a BITCH! actually I should call her a Psychopath,not just her BOTH OF THEM.

It’s like, I am Amy and I’m so perfect that you may want to puke, but it’s okay.

75add-tumblr_lilefaek9b1qbcp4mo1_400

The third and final section is were complexities in a persons character are highlighted. I was literally shocked and horrified by the ruthlessness of human nature and its complexity.

82fbd-img_7316

Though I would have been much more content with a little different ending (I found it a little forced at the end that is why 4 stars out of 5), but I loved the book and would definitely recommend as a read for people who love mystery/thrillers.

But another thing that I think about this book, that is, it might not be a book that everyone would like to read.The subject I think works good for certain type of people and might not work for others.

I’m happy that I come in a category who like to read psychological thrills and I really am amazed with the creation of this plot which actually is wonderful and I’m really impressed with Flynn’s imagination and how she turned down things for both the characters.

f65d3-tumblr_nbfyqmokyq1qgfbkmo8_250

Few Quotes from the book:

“My mother had always told her kids: if you’re about to do something, and you want to know if it’s a bad idea, imagine seeing it printed in the paper for all the world to see.”


“We weren’t ourselves when we fall in love, and when we became ourselves- surprise!- we were poison.We complete each other in the nastiest, ugliest possible way.”


“Friends see most of each other’s flaws. Spouses see every awful last bit.”

4cd8d-giphy

Leave a Reply

