Book Review : The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger


  “I don’t exactly know what I mean by that, but I mean it.”

My Rating : *3.5 Stars*

I read this book few years back when I was a kid,and honestly I can remember next to nothing about it, so I thought to read it again. But well at that time I gave this book 5 stars. Okay, let met tell you I read this book when I was sixteen and why I liked this book so much at that time precisely because “I was sixteen!“.

And now I know that I was an IDIOT!

Okay the thing is this book is for people of certain age group, once I was in that phase, and now I’m not. So basically this book lost it’s appeal for me.

If I talk about the character, Holden Caulfield, there are roughly three possibilities that you may come across.

  1. You’ll will say this is so relatable.( 14-16 age group people)
  2. I don’t minimally relate with this bastard.(people aging 26 and above )
  3. Sometimes he’s so relatable and sometimes a total asshole.(people that are 20 something)

Well I come under the third possibility, there are moments when I can still relate with Holden and there are moments in the book where I think what an asshole and also while reading them I felt depressed.

For Holden as everything turns out is lousy, every one is phony and seriously he dislike everything, besides his siblings(he love them a lot, hopefully something he liked in this world).

So when I said I can relate to him is because I also dislike a lot of stuff, and I think most of the things that people enjoy are lousy.(and I maybe an asshole, not very confident)

And when I said that I think he is a total asshole because he think besides him everyone is a phony or a moron and everything other people say is bullshit. And he made his thoughts very clear because he mentioned it in every other page. By the end of the book I wanted to shout at him, that please grow up already.

I’ve read few lines somewhere, and if I would be living in the fictional world of Salinger(which for some reason is even more pathetic than the real one)  and if I come across Holden, then I would totally like to read them for him.

           “Are you surrounded by fools? Are you the only reasonable person around? Then maybe you’re the one with jerkitude.”

           “Everyone is an asshole to somebody.”

And I totally agree with these lines, I do!

Now, the thing is I actually liked the last 30-40 pages, when he meet his sister and the conversation they had, and how she was worried about her brother and how he loved her so much. The way he talked about her every once in a while. I liked that.

Of course there were good parts in the book, there are few quotes that I liked a lot and there are moments when I was actually laughing. Sometimes this book was just funny for me and sometimes totally depressing. But he sure do had a strong voice.

The thing is every human being is broken and we should accept that fact, if you think someone is not perfect, then possibly you are also not perfect for someone.

And for people who think they don’t belong to this world and that this world and the people living here are not perfect. Then do remember…

Oscar Wilde said, “We are each our own devil, and we make this world our hell.”

And I think the world is doing its best, night and day to be a better place for us, so I guess we should just enjoy it, shouldn’t be?

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

