Book Review : The Girl From The Woods by Amar Shekhar


36274-25648847

**I have received an ARC of this book from the author in exchange of an honest review.

Author: Amar Shekhar 

Publisher: Notion Press

Published: June,2015

My Rating : *3 Stars*

“Which means I didn’t like it much, it was just fine and a nice read.”

Synopsis:

A wilderness photographer finding spiritual solace in nature takes a trip to Shimla. What he thinks a regular assignment is hardly what the trip turns out to be. From falling accidentally in love with a local mountain girl to allowing self-introspection in the cold valley; from winter camping to sitting alone in the church, this long winding journey itches a permanent memory on his mind. The girl from the woods takes you on a dabbling voyage like never before.

My Review:

Well before I start ,this book is author’s first published novel.

And it is no literary masterpiece and it would be wrong to compare it with one.If I talk about writing it is bit immature and this is something I face every time when I pick books from new breed of Indian writers! There is a long way to go.

43d41-beautiful-dream-fairy-tale-forest-favim-com-1998805

About The Book:

The premises sounded interesting to me, and also I enjoy travelogues and to that this book had romance. For me it was good to take a chance with this book.

In the beginning I was really excited because I love anything and everything that involves nature and for sure this book really had it all. I really liked the way the author described Shimla, every thing about it was beautiful. I loved those forests,frozen lakes,high mountains,cozy little house,dark nights and the street lights.The way he put upon these small details made this book a evocative read.The best part of the book for me.

Characters:

The characters were good, simple people. But I expect a bit more description about the main characters, that make me feel more connected to them and easier to imagine, but this book was lacking on that term. I didn’t even know the name of the characters in the first few chapters and were actually disclosed in later part of the book. So, the characterization needs improvement.

Yes,I agree the characters had this emotional depth associated with them and I liked that.

Romance:

8ad58-boy-couple-fire-girl-love-favim-com-138001_large

As an avid reader of romance novels, the story line seem to me a bit predictable and I really didn’t enjoy it much and it was bit cheesy.

Also I found few plot hole in last few chapters and I was also expecting an epilogue! because It’s good to know what exactly happened in the end.

Leave a Reply

