Book Review : The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde

Review: The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde

My ratings: *5 Stars*

Holy Mother! I must say that this play is hilarious.

This is one of that book that I can read over and over again and still can enjoy every bit of it.And I want more books like this,really.

To be true I never expected this to be so damn funny, like funny from the beginning to the end.This play has it all,humor, fun, good dialogues( good :/ no,best dialogues), witty characters and people full of amusement. I loved everything.

And now I can say, I’m in love with this man’s writing, Oscar Wilde, he really is wild(that makes no sense,I know). This is my second book written by him and now I can actually say that he is one of my favorite writer, I enjoyed the play and he entertained me well throughout the book.

I must say everyone should read this play and I assure you that you won’t regret it and that you won’t stop laughing.

Though every line in this book is perfect, but I want to quote few line from the book that I really liked.

 “I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read in the train.”


 “If I am occasionally a little over-dressed, I make up for it by being always immensely over-educated.”

“JACK:How you can sit there, calmly eating muffins when we are in this horrible trouble, I can’t make out. You seem to me to be perfectly heartless.

ALGERNON: Well, I can’t eat muffins in an agitated manner. The butter would probably get on my cuffs. One should always eat muffins quite calmly. It is the only way to eat them.”

1a693-tumblr_lxriklurt61qc3d93o1_500

“I hate people who are not serious about meals. It is so shallow of them.”


 “I really don’t see anything romantic in proposing. It is very romantic to be in love. But there is nothing romantic about a definite proposal. Why, one may be accepted. One usually is, I believe. Then the excitement is all over. The very essence of romance is uncertainty. If ever I get married, I’ll certainly try to forget the fact.”


 “Indeed, no woman should ever be quite accurate about her age. It looks so calculating.”


 “I am sick to death of cleverness. Everybody is clever nowadays. You can’t go anywhere without meeting clever people. The thing has become an absolute public nuisance. I wish to goodness we had a few fools left.

ALGERNON: We have.

JACK: I should extremely like to meet them. What do they talk about?

ALGERNON: The fools? Oh! about the clever people of course.

JACK: What fools.”

“The only way to behave to a woman is to make love to her if she is pretty, and to someone else if she is plain.”


 “Every woman becomes their mother. That’s their tragedy. And no man becomes his. That’s his tragedy.”


 “To lose one parent, Mr Worthing, may be regarded as a misfortune; to lose both looks like carelessness.”


 And there are more…..

b40aa-millard-importance-earnest

To sum this book up,

 “It is a terrible thing for a man to find out suddenly that all his life he has been speaking nothing but the truth”

So,basically, I loved this and I Earnestly recommend it 🙂

3 thoughts on “Book Review : The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde

  1. I have been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet
    I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good
    content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

