Book Review : The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

“He’s a wallflower. You see things. You keep quiet about them. And you understand.”

a6155-15950494

My Rating : *4.5 Stars*

Review:

Well I would say I loved this book, really loved it and why I loved it maybe because I consider myself a wallflower, maybe, maybe I’m. Yes, I’m!

I completed this book today itself, so it’s still fresh in my mind and again I literally loved it.

When I started reading it, to me Charlie’s character was so much relatable, not in a way that I did drugs, or smoked or because I got free books from my teacher(because I’m autistic, no I’m not, talking about free books I don’t even get them on my birthdays, poor me :/) or not even that I saw people having sex in front of me when I was 15, no, not really. No such opportunities I came across.

But what I thought was relatable to me, were his thoughts, they were so pure, true, and unadulterated and then this book had these situations that we all might have come across during the time when we were growing up, when we were exploring things, trying to fit in and developing, that made me like this book so much. 

This book speaks to people and I was amazed while reading this book, that how often I had same thoughts, I liked how writer talked about every possible sphere of teenagers life: family drama, friends, first date, first kiss, complicated relationships, fights, not being honest about feelings, then hurting people, loving people, siblings(their love, hate relationship), parent’s family, cousins, teachers, university, cheating, masturbation, sex, drugs,getting stoned, football, graduation, books, movies, songs…what not, everything.

I liked the character of Charlie, such a sweet boy, and I liked how he improves throughout the book, learns to write more skillfully and how he was always there for his friends, I liked it, a lot and then how he noticed everything about everything, how he was good at listening to people and then how he had so many questions to ask, all the time, so many thoughts, how much he loved his family. I liked that he made tapes for people,made tapes according to mood, how he gifted people the things that mattered to them the most and how he put those complicated thoughts into words(yes,I know the writer did) but seriously I liked everything.

I liked his friends as well, good people. Like it happens in the case of friendships, here as well there was this downfall, but then there was love between these people, which brought them closer and stronger than before.

The reason I liked this book so much, because it was about a wallflower, an outsider, which I always consider myself since my childhood. And this book got me, it actually touched me in a very subtle way, that I can’t explain.

I also liked how music, and books were well discussed. I love reading, I love making tapes according to moods and seasons and well all this was there in the book and I appreciated it a lot.

I even got a playlist, these are the songs they talked about. 😀

Landslide by Oh Wonder

Asleep by The Smiths

Blackbird  by The Beatles

MLK by U2

Landslide by Fleetwood Mac (Okay this was actually the landslide song, charlie talked about, but I liked the above one as well :P)

Gypsy  by Suzanne Vega

Daydreams by The Smashing Pumpkins

Dusk by Genesis

Time of No Reply  by Nick Drake

Nights in White Satin  by The Moody

Dear Prudence by The Beatles

Vapour Trail by Ride

Scarborough Fair  by Simon and Garfunkel (I just feel this song is quiet dark)

The Whiter Shade of Pale by Procol Harum


There are also few quotes that I really liked!

“We accept the love we think we deserve.”

“I would die for you. But I won’t live for you.”

“So, I guess we are who we are for a lot of reasons. And maybe we’ll never know most of them. But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things. And we can try to feel okay about them.”

“I think that if I ever have kids, and they are upset, I won’t tell them that people are starving in China or anything like that because it wouldn’t change the fact that they were upset.”

“I just need to know that someone out there listens and understand and doesn’t try to sleep with someone even if they could have. I need to know these people exist.”

“I just want you to know that you’re very special…and the only reason I’m telling you is that I don’t know if anyone else ever has.”

“It’s just hard to see a friend hurt this much. Especially when you can’t do anything except ‘be there’. I just want to make him stop from hurting, but I can’t. So I just follow him around whenever he wants to show me his world.”

“I put head under my pillow and let the quiet put things where they are supposed to be.”

 And there are many more…


In the end I would say, I enjoyed it and by the time I finished it, I felt infinite. I really did 😉

I recommend everyone to read this book!

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

