Book Review : Yes Please by Amy Poehler


1f572-20910157

My ratings: *3 Stars*


When I heard of this book “Yes Please” by Amy Poehler, that’s when I decided that I want to read this book, not that I’m a very big fan follower or something. But who doesn’t like Amy Poehler.

About the book, since it is written by Amy Poehler, I considered it might be written in a funny way. It is not. Well the thing I like about this book that it is written more in a straight forward way and since it is written by Amy Poehler ,it do have funny bits here and there.

As she said in the book that “Yes Please is an attempt to present an open scrap book that includes the sense of what I am thinking and feeling now.”She is right because the book doesn’t fully satisfy either as biography or a comedy book (I don’t know why I want it to be a comedy book, well I guess it’s understood).

And also I’m bit disappointed because this book was kind of boring for me at times. It took me nearly 4 days to get over with it or might be I was not very much interested in reading about improvisation, whenever she talked about improvisation it literally sucked. Oh God!

While reading this book I came across many thoughts,the good,the bad and the disgusting. And when she talked about her life, I was able to review my life.

When I read the synopsis, it says that this book contains many real life advice, it does contain them but most of them are known to us, she just gave them the voice and made them easy to comprehend, I liked that.

The other thing I liked is when her parents talked about the day she was born and then she asks the readers to ask their parents about the day they were born. So,I asked my parents about the day I was born and it was actually a funny story (Everyone should do that, really).

There are Few Quotes I literally liked and they are:

“I think we should stop asking people in their twenties what they “want to do” and start asking them what they don’t want to do.”


“That is the motto women should constantly repeat over and over again. Good for her! Not for me.”


“People are most beautiful when they are laughing, crying, dancing, playing, telling truth, and being chased in a fun way.” (The truth, I think)


“A lot of people don’t know I am always thisfuckingclose to doing some crazy shit.” (Me too)


“Anger and embarrassment are often neighbors.”


“Also, even though I’m bossy, I like being told what to do by people who are smarter and interesting than me.”


“I know enough now to know I know nothing.”


Her talking about inner demon, high school, friends and stuff was actually fun and relatable and felt good.

While when out of nowhere she referred to “Human Centipede” it was disgusting because for like half an hour I was thinking about that movie (and now you’ll be).

So, I’m giving this book 3 stars since she talked about few of my favorite people, made me think about my past and about the crazy things I did.

I don’t know who I don’t want to recommend this book, but I surely know to whom I want to. This book is for all the people who are big fan followers of Amy Poehler (but might be they already did read this book) and people who want to support Amy’s online shopping addiction (she pointed this out).

Leave a Reply

