Book Review : The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran

“You give but little when you give of your possessions.

It is when you give of yourself that you truly give.”

19280145

My Rating : *4 Stars*

The talks of the prophet and things that affect our everyday life are very touching and deeply philosophical. The writing is simply awesome. ‘The Prophet’ is one of those very few books that have pearls of wisdom on every page.

The chapter I liked the most is “On Children”

picture (2)


Your Children are not your children.

They are the sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself.

They come through you but not from you,

And though they are with you, yet they belong not to you.

***

You may give them your love but not your thoughts.

For they have their own thoughts.

You may house their bodies but not their souls.

For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow, which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.


As I said I liked this chapter. However, when I read this to my mother.

she said:

Well I guess then you should just get out of my house as well! (with a smirk ;))

The other thing is even though this book is written very beautifully and contain a lot of wisdom, it just contradict itself and sometimes I couldn’t agree with the writer(I guess because of different perspectives).

But yes I enjoyed it for the lyrical prose and for this man talking of all the elements of life.

“Beauty is eternity gazing at itself in a mirror.

But you are eternity and you are the mirror.”


” Some of you say, “Joy is greater than sorrow,” and other say, “Nay, sorrow is the greater.”

But I say unto you, they are inseparable.

Together they come, and when one sits alone with you at board, remember that the other is asleep upon your bed. “

Leave a Reply

