Book Review : Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

9889

My Rating : *4 Stars*

‘Never love a wild thing, Mr Bell,’ Holly advised him. ‘That was Doc’s mistake. He was always lugging home wild things. A hawk with a hurt wing. One time it was a full-grown bobcat with a broken leg. But you can’t give your heart to a wild thing: the more you do, the stronger they get. Until they’re strong enough to run into the woods. Or fly into a tree. Then a taller tree. Then the sky. That’s how you’ll end up, Mr Bell. If you let yourself love a wild thing. You’ll end up looking at the sky.

‘She’s drunk,’ Joe Bell informed me.

‘Moderately,’ Holly confessed…..

Holly lifted her martini. ‘Let’s wish the Doc luck, too,’ she said, touching her glass against mine. ‘Good luck: and believe me, dearest Doc- it’s better to look at the sky than live there. Such an empty place; so vague. Just a country where the thunder goes and things disappear.

Breakfast-at-Tiffanys--007

This is a novella of only about 100 pages and mostly focus on the main character Miss Holly Golightly.

I’m really indecisive after reading this book and I really don’t know what I want to say about this book.

But I still have things to say but before saying anything else I would like to say that I really liked the book(never watched the movie).

Miss Holly Golightly, have a really vibrant character, she is kind of a woman whose presence can’t be avoided. She is quirky but not very likable but instead she is a seriously flawed woman. I would say a badass main character.

I liked her and I hated her.

Her character is associated with feelings of loneliness, despair, depression, struggle to find the sense of belonging and at the same time not wanting to be caged or tied down. I think this part of her made me like her because I can relate to those feelings and I know what it is like.

“Anyone who ever gave you confidence, you owe them a lot.”

On the other hand I didn’t like how she lived on the kindness of other people and how she abandon people who trust her and care for her. In sort her character actually made me sad though she had both good and bad side.

“You’ve got to be sensitive to appreciate her: a streak of the poet. But I’ll tell you the truth. You can beat your brains out for her, and she’ll hand you horseshit on a platter.”

Her story felt unfinished. But I really enjoyed every minute that I spent reading this book. I liked the tone of the book. At times this book turned out to be funny, I mean the dialogues. Over all I liked Capote’s writing and his characterization and I would like to say that the character of Holly seeps deeply into the tone of the book.

It’s a short book and I highly recommend it, it’s dark and it’s believable and won’t take much of your time even if it disappoint you.

Miss Holiday Golightly, Travelling

 

One thought on “Book Review : Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

Leave a Reply

