Book Review : Weird Things Customers Say In Bookshops by Jen Campbell

12640991

My Rating : *3.5 Stars*

If you want to read something funny and want to entertain yourself read this.

This book is a quick and light read and it made me laugh from page one.

It is a collection of the actual conversations between the booksellers and customers in bookshops.And what all weird and funny things people say in bookshops.

Few of them were really good I laughed out loud, few of them I thought were just made up to show the stupidity of people(people are often stupid but not that stupid,I believe).

There are few of my favorites:

Customer: Hi, I just wanted to ask: did Anne Frank ever write a sequel?

Bookseller: …..

Customer: I really enjoyed her first book.

Bookseller: Her diary?

Customer: Yes,the diary.

Bookseller: Her diary wasn’t fictional.

Customer: Really?

Bookseller: Yes…She really dies at the end- that’s why the diary finishes. She was taken to a concentration camp.

Customer: Oh…that’s terrible.

Bookseller: Yes it was awful.

Customer: I mean, it’s such a shame you know? She was such a good writer.


Customer: Would you mind if I photocopied this recipe?


Customer: Do you have books signed by Margaret Atwood?

Bookseller: We have many Margaret Atwood books, but I’m afraid we don’t have any signed by Margaret Atwood,no.

Customer: I’m looking for a birthday present for my wife. I know she’d really love a signed copy. You couldn’t fake a signature could you?


 

Customer(Drops an old, expensive book on the floor by accident): Great Shot!

Bookseller: (glares)

Customer: I mean…sorry.


Customer: I’m always on night shift at work.

Booksellers(jokingly): Is that why you’re buying so many vampire novels?

Customer(seriously): You can never be too prepared.


Customer: I don’t know why she wants it, but my wife asked for a copy of The Dinosaur Cookbook.

Bookseller: The Dinah Shore Cookbook?

Customer: That must be it; I wondered what she was up to.


 

I have heard people saying weird things. However not as weird as they are in this book.

Sometimes few conversations were annoying but other times I laughed out loud. So I can recommend this book to everyone who needs a good laugh.

On a very different note there is this one situation which I guess we all come across when we go for shopping and there are shop assistants who do everything to annoy customers by asking questions like

Can I help you?

Are you looking for anything?

Or just stand right next to you while you shop.

A similar situation is quoted here in this book…


 

(An old lady approaches the till)

Customer: Yes? What do you want?

Bookseller: Erm, I rather thought that I might be able to help you.

Customer: Don’t be ridiculous. Do I look like as if I need your help…?


 

 

Leave a Reply

