Book Review : The Stranger by Albert Camus

49552

My Rating : *4.5 Stars*

I’m not gonna talk about this book in terms of existentialism or any other philosophical terminology. Do I even bother to know what these terms even mean? No

Will I ever try to know what all these philosophical terms mean? Yes, someday.

And if you also want to know what they mean, you can read them,here.

“The Stranger”, about this book, I can say one thing that I really cherished the time I spent reading it. And also it raised a whole lot of questions for me to ponder over and I think they are questions without answers and that is disturbing for me.

I remember when I read this book called “Chronicle of a Death Foretold” by Gabriel Marquez, after I finished reading that book, the question that who actually took her virginity messed up with my mind, and I was asking everyone, did I miss something? and nobody gave me an answer to that question, I re-read it and still no answer (well if you know the answer please let me know, even though I have considered few possibilities to satisfy myself). Similarly after reading this book, I’m feeling the same way.

Camus in this book brings out the absurdity of human existence.

I don’t know what I should learn from this book, and I don’t know what he was trying to tell us and I really don’t know if I’ve got this right or not…

However I liked it very much and this book is not just about meaning of life, there is so much more to it.

The main character of this book, Meursault, Do I not like him? No, I liked him.

Did he do a senseless act of committing a murder? Yes, he did, it was total senseless.

Do I hate him for that? Yes, I do.

But is there anything wrong with him other than that? No, not really, I don’t think so.

What he did was not moral, but on the other hand the way Camus portrayed him as a person, people may call him hard-hearted, cold, inhuman or whatever they wish, but I don’t think of him that way.

I totally disagree with the interpretation that he was inhuman or amoral.

92-The-Stranger

Do we really have to follow what society think is right or wrong, who the hell make that decision. I guess this is what our society is doing, people want you to behave in a certain way, they expect you to cry when someone dies, they expect you to show sympathy when thing are going wrong in their life, they want you to make them feel worthy, they want you to make them feel important, they also want you to keep up with their crap and when you don’t they call you cold, insensitive and inhuman or these days most preferably a douchepig (well I do agree some of us are douchepig, but some of us are not).

Why is it that society will call us human only when we’ll live unto their expectations, isn’t everyone different, isn’t things in life work in different ways for different people, don’t everyone have a different personality.

Why is it when we don’t show certain emotions in certain situations, people think there is something wrong with us.

I don’t see a point, why someone should be asked to behave in a certain way, and why we have to impose on others what we think is right or wrong.

Isn’t there a saying, live and let live?

I hated how he was being told that he should behave or act or live in a certain way.

Humanity takes itself too seriously. It is the world’s original sin. If the cave-man had known to laugh, History would have been different.”- Oscar Wilde

I’m not saying what he did was right, but calling a person criminal because he don’t make you feel good about yourself, or follow your steps is downright wrong. Only that in this case he was actually a criminal, but for his crime and not for his human behavior.

Meursault never lied through out the book, he never pretend to have faith in god not even to save his life. He valued honesty and I do consider that he cared for people close to him.

Sometimes the book even turned out to be funny, I really liked the writing and now I’m gonna read all the books written by this writer.

Even though in a way I agree with this book, there is something I totally disagree with…

“But”, I reminded myself, “it’s common knowledge life isn’t worth living,anyhow.”

“Every man’s life ends the same way. It is only the details of how he lived and how he died that distinguish one man from another.”-Ernest Hemingway

I would say life is totally worth living…

The last part of the book for me was really depressing… I think the crime he committed made his thoughts and belief more visible to people, this is when he was considered as different or a stranger.“The Stranger”.

One thought on “Book Review : The Stranger by Albert Camus

Leave a Reply

