Book Review : Pale Blue Dot by Carl Sagan

61663

My Rating : *5 Stars*

Wow! this book is just wow. I remember, in 2014 I watched this short film called Wanderers, and you know I loved it. I have read few more books by Carl Sagan, but I got to know about this book after watching this video.

 

And after reading this book, I can say that it was my favorite book of the year 2015 and I’m very happy that I ended my year with this book.

If I talk about Carl Sagan, do you know what separate him or distinguish him from other brilliant people out there? His excitement and enthusiasm with which he express himself. You can feel it in his writing. And I liked how he can explain things with such simplicity, while maintaining the beauty.

I would say this book is glorious and it makes me wonder, it illuminates me, through a light on the significance of our lives, and how special we are.

He quoted in the book:

“The Universe seems designed for human beings. It’s difficult to contemplate these circumstances without experiencing stirrings of pride and reassurance. The entire Universe, made for us! We must really be something.”

In this world, as of now we are the only living, thinking beings and we should really be happy with all that we have and all that surrounds us!

Pale Blue Dot refers to the Earth in the great vastness of the Universe. However small it may appear from that distance, but it is so much more to us. For us it’s our world,the only known world which harbors life, sustain life, and it’s our home.

From this distant vantage point, the Earth might not seem of any particular interest.

     But for us, it’s different. Look again at that dot. That’s here. That’s home. That’s us. In it everyone we love, everyone you know, everyone you ever heard of, every human being, who ever was, lived out their lives. The aggregate of our joy and suffering, thousands of confident religions, ideologies, and economic doctrines, every hunter and forager, every hero and coward, every creator and destroyer of civilization, every king and peasant, every young couple in love, every mother and father, hopeful child, inventor and explorer, every teacher of morals, every corrupt politician, every “superstar,” every “supreme leader,” every saint and sinner in the history of species lived there-on a mote of dust suspended in a sunbeam…

…The Earth is the only world known so far to harbor life. There is nowhere else, at least in the near future, to which our species could migrate. Visit, yes. Settle, not yet. Like it or not, for the moment the Earth is where we make our stand.

Think of how fucked up we will be, if we destroy this planet.

You know when ever I feel sad or depressed, I always listen to him, watch those videos that are available on YouTube and for some reason after listening to him I feel good, there is certain hope that he instill in me and then I just feel wonderful.

I love him and I’ll always remember him, for he made a huge impact in my life. He is truly irreplaceable.

These are few other quotes that I really like:

“We can judge our progress by the courage of our questions and the depth of our answers, out willingness to embrace what is true rather than what feels good.”

“The Universe is a pretty big place. If it’s just us, seems like an awful waste of space.

“It pays to keep an open mind, but not so open that your brain falls out.”

“Imagination will often carry us to the worlds that never were, but without it we go nowhere.”

“The beauty of a living thing is not the atoms that go into it, but the way those atoms are put together .”

“If it can be destroyed by the truth, it deserve to be destroyed by the truth.”

“In all our searching, the only thing we’ve found that makes the emptiness bearable is each other.”

And there are many more…

So the conclusion is, read this book and then read his other books, and then watch those videos that are available on YouTube and then just enjoy the Universe.

Read it, you won’t be disappointed!

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Book Review : Pale Blue Dot by Carl Sagan

Leave a Reply

