Book Review : Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

“Is it possible for home to be a person and not a place.”

17453983 (1)

My Rating : *4 Stars*

Either I’m getting old or I’m totally distracted because I just can’t read romance novels these days, let alone young adult *sigh*. But then I went to this terrible vacation which turned out to be the worst vacation ever (it totally redefined the definition of vacation) that I had to find a way out of it, that is when this book came into my rescue. Yes! Anna and the French Kiss. This book totally saved me from losing my mind, huh!(I mean it).

For me this book was 2 days of bliss!

I hate the name of this book and I was seriously trying to hide the book cover every time I was in public or sitting with my family because I knew that if my father would see it, he will be like, “Huh! What a waste of time!” or maybe “What a crappy book!”(he judge a book by its cover.)

But let me tell you. This book was PERFECT!

This book gave that giddy feeling. I mean that cute feeling, where you just blush all the time or when you get butterflies in your stomach, that feeling.

I loved the mutual understanding between Anna and Etienne, and I enjoyed the kind of relationship they had in this book.

I must say I adored Etienne St. Clair. I liked him for he was just too cute, caring and I completely admired his flaws. I guess every one who read this book loved him. But for me I didn’t love him, I liked him.

materpiece

Anna, the protagonist, was a likable character. I loved her. She was funny and quiet relatable and had her own quirky bits. So, yes I totally enjoyed her. I didn’t like her when she was obsessing over St. Clair, that was too much for me.

Other characters were just great. They were supportive and well written.

I loved the writing and I would say Stephanie Perkins definitely know how to craft good characters, characters with some depth. I also liked the romance and sexual tension that was built through out the book and the story was believable because you see love like this happening around you all the time( well not all the time, I’m just exaggerating).

What am I forgetting? hmm, yes the love triangle and those egoistical and egocentric people whom you can definitely not ignore in life. I mean who will create the mess if they won’t be there? So, yes this book had all the elements which you can expect in YA novel.

I also loved the description of Paris, France. It made me want to be there and live there. I guess the best part of this story was that it was set in PARIS. I love that city.

This book really made me feel something that I hadn’t felt for a long time, so for me the story was fun and cutesy. When I finished this book, I felt satisfied.

So what do we have? A book set in Paris, a hot(not sure about hot), cute American guy with French name and British accent, a girl who is hilarious, friends who know the meaning of friendship and cutesy romance. Do you still want me to say something?

Read it!

Leave a Reply

