Book Review : Lady Windermere’s Fan by Oscar Wilde

“In this world there are only two tragedies. One is not getting what one wants, and the other is getting it.”

122649

My Rating : *4 Stars*

Reading Oscar Wilde book means life is perfect. He’s my favorite  and guess what he never disappoint, I mean never!

I enjoyed this play, Oscar Wilde’s plays are worth reading, they are thought provoking , witty and have well crafted characters and wonderfully written dialogues, which I think everyone can enjoy.

Oscar Wilde is a genius and his wit’s never bore me and every time I read his books I enjoy them very profoundly. My favorite being “The Importance of Being Earnest ” and “The Picture of Dorian Grey “. However every book that I read written by him becomes my favorite. I’m not kidding!

Reading Oscar Wilde is always amazing. That being said, I suggest you to read his books, if you haven’t and let me tell you’re missing something brilliant here.

This play is about a good woman(ya) and is a social comedy. This play pokes fun of the social expectations. Hypocrisy in this play is an important component and lies an important tool to avoid conflicts. It’s a moral play about immoral people.

4 stars because I could not connect to all the characters, as they were so many and I don’t like too many characters in a book, but that is my problem.

LWF_1

Some quotes from the book:

“It is absurd to divide people into good and bad. People are either charming or tedious.”

“It is always a silly thing to give advice, but to give good advice is absolutely fatal.”

“I talk so trivially about life because I think that life is far too important a thing ever to talk seriously about it.”

“What is a cynic?…A man who knows the price of everything and the value of nothing.”

“Ideals are dangerous things. Realities are better. They wound, but they’re better.”

And I loved this one:

“We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.”

By the way you can watch the play here:

Leave a Reply

