Book Review: One Day by David Nicholls


“So – whatever happened to you?’
‘Life. Life happened.”

6280118

My Rating: *3 Stars*

When did I read this book? hmm…3 years back first semester break, the time when I was 18. I remember I had nothing good to do and then I decided to buy, guess what? , some romance novels.

So I got this book, one Julie James book(which was awesome) and few mills & boon(when I sent the pictures of what all I bought one of my friend literally asked me after seeing those mills and boon books “Why did you buy condoms?”, I know *sigh*). Don’t judge I was feeling lonely and hormonal.

Back to this book.

If you want to smile, laugh, cry, cringe, sigh or just plain sit on a roller-coaster of emotions, then read this book.

Okay few things I really loved, few things not so much.

Well, not my favorite book but then the story is rare and entertaining.

The best part of this book? Emma, yes the female lead. She was nerdy(and I love nerdy people), funny(in a weird way), down-to-earth and amazing person.

Dexter? I didn’t like him at first. I don’t like bad guys and he was seriously not a nice guy. So, it took me some time to actually like him and then came the end. I hated him for most of the part.

The book in itself is cheesy and then Dexter made it corny. This is not true love thing because I have no idea how can people live with such denial, and lies for so many years. It’s kinda degrading.

Well the guy in this book, remind me of someone I know and seriously I can’t understand these people. I don’t know what they get out of cheating on so many people.

Cheesy? Because again a story, where the guy is totally fucked up and then he realize that the girl who was there all along is “The One” and then he turn himself into this amazing loving person(Ya that story) and they end up together.

“You can live your whole life not realizing that what you’re looking for is right in front of you.”

The end.

I didn’t like this book very much because I totally detest this kind of man.So, I’m biased here.

I won’t recommend this book, you can read it if you want(you can definitely read, don’t listen to me. I’m getting old) . Yes, you can totally watch the movie, One Day (It’s better).

One-Day-movie

Why did I add this picture? because well two beautiful people. Duh!

Update:

This song totally reminds of this book, so here it is, “Say You Love Me” by Jessie Ware

3 thoughts on “Book Review: One Day by David Nicholls

    • I liked the structure of the book. Writer definitely was trying to do something different here.

      Only that it took them so many years to admit that they are good for each other was mindboggling for me, that is a whole lot of years to just sit there and miss the other person.

      And Thanks for stopping by! Have a nice day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

