Book Review: Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

“I keep thinking about this river somewhere, with the water moving really fast. And these two people in the water, trying to hold onto each other, holding on as hard as they can, but in the end it’s just too much. The current’s too strong. They’ve got to let go, drift apart. That’s how it is with us. It’s a shame, Kath, because we’ve loved each other all our lives. But in the end, we can’t stay together forever.”

6335

My Rating: *4.5 Stars*

Science Fiction, eh?

NO!

Then what?

More of Coming to Age and Dystopian novel.

Oh!

Btw more of a mixture of genres, Gothic romance, dystopia, coming to age, a tiny winy bit of SF.

Synopsis:

Hailsham seems like a pleasant English boarding school, far from the influences of the city. Its students are well-tended and supported, trained in art and literature, and become just the sort of people the world wants them to be. But, curiously, they are taught nothing of the outside world and are allowed little contact with it.

Within the grounds of Hailsham, Kathy grows from schoolgirl to young woman, but it’s only when she and her friends Ruth and Tommy leave the safe grounds of the school (as they always knew they would) that they realize the full truth of what Hailsham is.

Never Let Me Go breaks through the boundaries of the literary novel. It is a gripping mystery, a beautiful love story, and also a scathing critique of human arrogance and a moral examination of how we treat the vulnerable and different in our society. In exploring the themes of memory and the impact of the past, Ishiguro takes on the idea of a possible future to create his most moving and powerful book to date.


You know what, we do have a movie! But wait, first read the review and decide for yourself do you want to read it first or watch it. If you’ll watch it first, you’ll not be able to enjoy the very essence of the book. Read it without any hint.


Book Review:

“Memories, even your most precious ones, fade surprisingly quickly. But I don’t go along with that. The memories I value most, I don’t ever see them fading.”

Well, this book shattered me, no, no, broke my heart. You know, I don’t want to tell you anything about this book but I do want to say few things about it. I’ve very conflicting thoughts about how much I should disclose so that you can also enjoy the experience of reading this book followed by watching the movie.

You come across books that are perfect and I love coming across these books and Never Let Me Go is one of them. This book have a such a powerful narrative and the story flows. I like the kind of stories where people talk about their past, they talk about people from there past, I like the small details and memories. You know how when parents or grand parents tell us about their life and what they used to do and how were things back then, it’s always intriguing. Similarly this book have it all, such a good characterization, I liked knowing about their life in Hailsham. This book have this Gothic spell but that is not the only thing that I loved about this book.

Let me tell you what I loved…

The book revolves around the life of three friends Kathy, Ruth and Tommy. The narrator in this book is Kathy who is a care taker and as I said it is more of coming to age book, because Kathy in this book tells about their life growing up in Hailsham and how their life took turns and how it turned out.

download

I don’t know how to describe the beauty of this book but few morning I woke up early just to read this book. When I read it, I didn’t know what was happening, I kept on reading and reading until I understood. This book moved me emotionally and then at one instance it shattered me. I felt so bad for all of them, specially Kath. Everything was so unsettling,  this book raise questions about ethics and morals.

You don’t realize what you are getting yourself into and in one moment everything is clear. His writing and structure of the book will make you want to read the book, but on the same front you’ll find it hard to decipher what he is trying to say and where the story is going and that is what I found unsettling.

I’m not gonna tell you what this book is about, read it, struggle and enjoy.

The book is haunting, sweet and sad at the same time…

Judy Bridgewater – Never Let Me Go(Tommy and Kath made me discover this song)

Darling,
Hold me,
Hold me,
Hold meeeeee,
And never (never),
Never (never),
Never (never),
Let me gooooo

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

