Book Review: The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories by Marina Keegan

“We have these impossibly high standards and we’ll probably never live up to our perfect fantasies of our future selves.”

18143905Read: 15th June 2017

My Rating: 3 Stars

This book is a collection contains short stories and essays and a split between fiction and non-fiction.

I liked some short stories and some essay and I didn’t like most of them.

In general I liked the non-fiction part more than fiction. There were shorts stories that I literally skipped, I couldn’t make myself read them, didn’t hold my interest.

I particularly liked Stability in Motion, where she talked about her grandmother’s car which was passed down to her. That was good to read.

And Against the Grain, where she talked about how her mother was particular about her non-gluten diet, I see all the mother in that one essay, I mean how all the mothers are much the same when it comes to their kids, no I’m not talking about the non-gluten diet thing.

I don’t know what I really feel about this book because I really didn’t find anything special in it. But overall I don’t know what is the point of this book, I am only happy that it was a short book because it would not have kept my interest.

Leave a Reply

